THIS DOCUMENT IS THE PROPERTY

OF THE GOVERNMENT OF ANGUILLA

Copy No:

MINUTES OF THE 132ND MEETING OF THE ELEVENTH ANGUILLA EXECUTIVE COUNCIL HELD ON THURSDAY 8TH MARCH 2018

PRESENT: His Excellency the Governor, Mr Timothy Foy, OBE

The Honourable Victor Banks, Chief Minister and Minister of Finance, Economic Development, Commerce, Tourism and Information Technology

The Honourable Acting Deputy Governor, Mrs Kathleen Rogers

The Honourable Evans Rogers, Minister of Health and Social Development, Lands and Physical Planning

The Honourable Cora Richardson-Hodge, Minister of Home Affairs and Education

The Honourable Curtis Richardson, Minister of Infrastructure, Communications, Utilities, Housing, Agriculture, Fisheries and Environment

The Honourable Attorney General, Mr John McKendrick QC

Mrs Jewelle Fleming, Clerk to Executive Council

IN ATTENDANCE: Hon Cardigan Connor, Parliamentary Secretary

Mr Stephen Turnbull, Financial Specialist

Mr Larry Franklin, PS, EDICTIT Dr Aidan Harrigan, PS, FIN

Mr Kiel Connor, Comptroller, Inland Revenue

Mrs Shantelle Richardson, Director, Economic Planning

Mrs Shona Proctor, Budget Director

Mrs Anthea Ipinson-Connor, Chief Project Officer

Mrs Nashara Webster-Wilkes, Economist

Mrs Tavia Connor, Business Process Analyst Ms Jamila Gumbs, Budget Officer

Mr Vonlee Harris, Deputy Accountant General

Mr Claudel Romney, Managing Partner, BDO

Mr Jerrick Evangelista, Senior Manager, Audit and Advisory Services, BDO

Ms Marisa Harding-Hodge, Compliance Officer

ABSENT: The Honourable Deputy Governor, Mr Perin Bradley

EX MIN 18/133 **CONFIRMATION OF THE MINUTES**

Council confirmed the Minutes of the 131st Meeting held on Thursday 1st March 2018.

EX MIN 18/134 **REVIEW OF FEBRUARY'S FINANCIAL OUTTURNS**

In attendance:-

Mr Stephen Turnbull, Financial Specialist

Mr Larry Franklin, PS, EDICTIT

Dr Aidan Harrigan, PS, FIN

Mr Vonlee Harris, Deputy Accountant General

Mr Kiel Connor, Comptroller, Inland Revenue

Mrs Shantelle Richardson, Director, Economic Planning

Mrs Shona Proctor, Budget Director

Mrs Anthea Ipinson-Connor, Chief Project Officer

Mrs Nashara Webster-Wilkes, Economist

Mrs Tavia Connor, Business Process Analyst

Ms Jamila Gumbs, Budget Officer

Council:-

- (i) received a briefing form the Ministry of Finance on the Expenditure and Revenue performances for January and February 2018, which showed an overall recurrent revenue underperformance of E\$4.82m and recurrent expenditure savings of EC\$2.57m resulting in a net underperformance of EC\$2.25m;
- (ii) agreed to reducing the Accommodation Tax targets by \$4m to take into account of underperformance and identify and secure savings from existing vacancies within Personal Emoluments to compensate for this. A revised figure of EC\$203.8m (excluding EC\$17m for payment of arrears) for the 2018 Expenditure Budget to be reflected in the ceilings for each Ministry; and
- (iii) agreed a revised funding ceiling for Personal Emoluments of EC\$79m.

Council thanked the team for a comprehensive presentation.

Action: PS, FIN; PS, EDICTIT; PS, PA; PAS, FIN; BD; DEP; CPO; OTHER PSs; ACC GEN; MINS OF GOV'T

EX MIN 18/135 EX MEM 18/80 APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS TO THE BOARD OF THE HEALTH AUTHORITY OF ANGUILLA (HAA)

Financial Specialist remained. Hon Cardigan Connor, Parliamentary Secretary joined the Meeting.

Council:-

(i) noted that the terms of service of three (3) members to the Board of the Health Authority of Anguilla (HAA) ended 31 January 2018;

(ii) noted and agreed with the Hon Minister of Health that the following persons should be re-appointed to the HAA Board effective 1 February 2018:-

Dr. Brett Hodge Re-appointment as Vice Chair for a period

of 2 years

Irose Richardson Re-appointment for a period of 2 years

Malone Richardson Re-appointment for a period of 2 years

(iii) noted and agreed that Mr Fritz Smith should be re-appointed as Chair of the HAA Board effective 1 August 2018 for a term of three (3) years.

Council additionally noted that the Health Authority of Anguilla has made provision in their budget to pay the stipends of the Board members.

Action: PS, HLPP; HON MINISTER, HLTH; HON AG

EX MIN 18/136

EX MEM 18/83 EU BLACKLISTING OF NON-COOPERATIVE JURISDICTIONS FOR TAX PURPOSES BRIEF

Remaining:-

Hon Parliamentary Secretary
Mr Stephen Turnbull, Financial Specialist
Dr Aidan Harrigan, PS, FIN
Mr Larry Franklin, PS, EDICTIT
Ms Marisa Harding-Hodge, Compliance Officer

Council:-

- (i) noted with appreciation the quick response of officials to the European Union's request for additional information and the response which was put together. Council further noted that Anguilla now needed to await the outcome of the Code of Conduct Group (CoCG);
- (ii) agreed that a working group should be established to address the EU/CoCG Screening Process. The purpose of the working group would be to:-
 - (a) to enter into dialogue with all relevant parties to include: 'Criteria 2.2' jurisdictions, the Code of Conduct Group, the EU Commission, and the OECD Secretariat:
 - (b) to research international tax standards;

- (c) to propose and prepare amendments to legislation to satisfactorily address the CoCGs concerns noting the commitment Anguilla had made in the recent correspondence to the CoCG to revise current IBC legislation by 30 June 2018; and
- (d) to work closely with fellow Overseas Territories through this process noting the similarities of the jurisdictions' legal and regulatory frameworks and the common issues faced.
- (iii) instructed officials in the Ministry of Finance to ascertain the willingness and availability of the following persons to sit or select a representative to sit on the Working Group:-

Lanston Connor, Registrar of Commercial Activities

Larry Franklin, Permanent Secretary, EDICT as Chairman

Financial Services Commission

Attorney General's Chambers

Marisa Harding Hodge, Compliance Manager as Secretary

John Dyrud (drafted IBC legislation)

STEP Anguilla/Anguilla Compliance Association/Anguilla Financial Services
Association (2 reps)

Anguilla Finance

Asian Markets Representative (on an as needed basis)

Action: PS, EDICTIT; PS, FIN; PAS, FIN; COM OFF; HON AG
